>>>  LIST  <<< April 2, 2003

NAB Launches ICE Awards Recognizing Excellence in Production

WASHINGTON, DC - The National Association of Broadcasters, in cooperation with Future Media Concepts (FMC), announced they are launching the NAB Individual Creative Excellence (ICE) Awards to recognize those who stretch creativity and craft outstanding works in production and post-production. Part of the new Post|Production World Conference, the awards will be announced at NAB2004 in Las Vegas April 17 - 22.

"The attendees who come to our convention every year are tops in their field, producing cutting-edge digital art for a variety of audiences,"said NAB Vice President, Science & Technology John Marino. "Joining with FMC to honor these leaders for their exceptional work is a natural fit for the convention - the world's largest gathering place for video production professionals."

"FMC is pleased to be a part of the creation of the ICE Awards. For many years the NAB convention has been thought of predominately as a hardware show. Now, with the creation of the ICE Awards and the surrounding Post|Production World conference, we intend to recognize not only the hardware and software but also the many talented digital artists who create video for broadcasters and allied fields," said Future Media Concepts Vice President Jeff Rothberg. "There is no better venue to recognize Individual Creative Excellence than at NAB2004. This year's NAB convention will truly be the convergence of both talent and technology."

Editors, graphic artists, sound designers, web designers and videographers from any entity that uses the medium of digital art to produce exceptional work are eligible to enter. Those interested in entering can do so at www.nabshow.com/iceawards.asp. The entry fee is $125 for the first piece of work submitted, and $100 for each additional piece of work or for consideration of the piece in additional categories. Students with a valid student identification may submit their entry for the Student Category a $35 fee. The deadline for entries is March 5, 2004.

At an awards ceremony held during NAB2004, five finalists and then one winner in six specific crafts will be announced. The crafts are: editing, graphics & animation, audio production and sound design, producing & directing, interactive design and videography & photography. Each craft is further classified into the broadcast, non-broadcast or student industries, and then into additional specific genres.

The Judging Committee for the 2004 NAB ICE Awards consists of an elite group of distinguished industry professionals representing various disciplines. Judges include award-winning instructors, magazine writers and editors, senior certified instructors, industry executives, trade organization leaders, and other seasoned professionals.

An advisory board oversees the ICE Awards. Members are Randi Altman, editor in chief, Post magazine; Stephen Bayes, author and editor; Andy Cook, training manager, Digidesign; Paula Heredia, director and president, Mamboreta, Inc.; Ralph LaBarge, managing partner, Alpha DVD; Carl Levine, executive producer and principal, Creative Bubble; John Marino, vice president, Science & Technology, NAB; Brian Meaney, product designer, Apple; Alex Nasson, director, North American Alliances, Macromedia; Dan Panarello, supervising editor, CBS, 60 Minutes; Anne Renehan, director of communications, Boris FX; Jeff Rothberg, vice president and co-founder, Future Media Concepts; Greg Staten, principal instructor, Avid Technology, Inc.; Jim Tierney, Digital Anarchy; and Ben Waggoner, principal, Ben Waggoner Digital.

NAB2004 will take place April 17 - 22, 2004 in Las Vegas (exhibits open April 19). It is the world's largest electronic media show covering the development, delivery and management of professional video and audio content across all media. Complete NAB2004 details are available at www.nabshow.com